Parisian Life: Le Jardin du Luxembourg, Paris

Everyone claims Paris to be one of the most romantic cities in the world, and the day that I visited Le Jardin du Luxembourg, was the first time I finally realised it.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

In the past I had only been to Paris for short periods of time, say 3 to 7 days at a time so I never really had time to thoroughly enjoy just being in Paris. I was always in a rush when I was here. I always had something I had to do or see. Now that I am living here and I have a lot of time on my hands, I have time to just wander around and soak up Paris.

This was my first time visiting the garden and I must say that it is honestly one of my favourite places in Paris at the moment.

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.22.42

I have been back since just to sit and read my book and watch people come and go, however there are a variety of activities you can do besides just relaxing. For children, but I’m sure adults can participate too, theres boat racing in the pond outside Luxembourg Palace. For the children there’s also pony rides available. For those more active, there are tennis courts and basketball courts in the garden.

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.23.13

Wandering through the garden you can also view the various sculptures dotted around the garden. For the more serious art-lovers, you can also visit Musée de l’Orangerie. This museums houses Impressionist and post-Impressionist art by Monet, Cézanne, Matisse, Picasso and many others.

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.22.57

Musical shows also take place on various days in the garden so you can sit back on one of the benches or metal chairs with a snack from one of the cafés in the garden and listen to the music, while relaxing in one of the most beautiful gardens in the world. It is also a good idea to pack a picnic and have brunch on one of the garden’s extremely green lawns.

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.22.29

Travellers Tip: Avoid going on weekends, as this is when the garden is busiest.

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.53.47.png

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close