Parisian Life: Musée d’Orsay

Musée d’Orsay has always been somewhere that I have wanted to visit. I’ve been to Paris several times before and I have done most of the typical touristy things, however I had never been to Musée d’Orsay before. There was always a long line to get into the museum and I never really had time to wait long. Last week Sunday, I decided to visit Musée d’Orsay because I had a skip the line pass.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My visit to the museum was met with great disappointment. I had seen photos and read so much about the museum in the past, so I was truly excited to spend a peaceful afternoon wandering the halls of the museum. My experience was not peaceful at all. I spent most of my time dodging other tourists trying to view the artwork. The museum is absolutely beautiful and so is the art inside it, however I just did not enjoy the experience as a whole.  I only managed to get a few pictures where there wasn’t another tourist in front of me and I had to wait at least 5 minutes to get those pictures. I think that it is partly because I went on a Sunday and I only arrived at 12pm.

 

I think I spent an hour and a half in the museum, and I don’t think I even saw the whole thing. I never even went to look at the museum from the inside of the clock. I walked through the museum and straight out again.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I waited about 10 minuets to get a photo of Vincent Van Gogh’s Self Portrait and his Starry Night. I know this isn’t as bad as visiting the Mona Lisa in the Louvre, but I thought that Musée d’Orsay would be a little different.

 

I will definitely have to return to the Musée d’Orsay soon so that I can experience the museum like I expected to, however next time I will go during the week and I will be first in line to enter the museum when it opens.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close